Party Time

19 Mar

So the other day I wrote about a little room makeover that we have been working on at our house.  I mentioned that I was headed to our local paint store to get “Party Time” for a special project.  Well, I did it!  I finally did it.  I’ve been talking about wanting to do this project for several years and now it’s done!

 

I painted our piano!

 

 

After 8 days of working on this project and some where around 9 coats of priming, painting and polyurethaning it’s finally done.  I knew this was going to be a biggie– that was one of the main reasons why I kept putting it off.  If you decide to tackle it, you may want to see a physician first for a few Prozacs to knock the edge off.  Actually, the worst part of it all was how long it dragged on.  I was hoping to have it done in a couple of days, but all the painting and waiting for it to dry made it carry on for over a week.  Even if it took a month, the transformation was sooooooo worth it!  I couldn’t have done it though without the help of my superhero and husband, David!  He took  the piano a part into 6 pieces, which made the painting process so much easier.  And he helped put it all back together.

 

Our room is almost done. All that’s left is the fun stuff–  hanging art, finding a small side table and lamp, and taking care of a couple of other little things.  When it’s all done I’ll let you see, but for now here’s just a peek:

 

18 Responses to “Party Time”

  1. kcc March 19, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    I love your new blue room and I LOVE that piano! It looks so beautiful- job well done! : D

  2. brandi March 19, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    OMG!!! We have an old organ that we found on the side of the road. Jeremy fixed it (sort of) and we’ve been debating if we should take it when we move. I asked if I can paint it teal or red and he said YES!!! Great minds think alike! I may need to call upon your expertise when I get moved and able to paint my Wurlitzer!!!!

    This is a lovely room, I hope I get to see it in person someday! Great job!

  3. misty March 19, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    noel complements the room well in that last photo. everything looks great ! happy happy

  4. Dana Douglas - Happy Day Vintage March 19, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    OMG! – this is one of the greatest things I have ever laid eyes on. Freaking awesome!

  5. Melissa Pennington March 20, 2011 at 12:10 am #

    Jill!!! You are a painting genius!!!! That piano is AMAZING!!!!

  6. Jill Denton March 21, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    Thanks everyone so much! I’ve played that piano more in the last two days than I have in the last seven years that it’s been in our home– Well, I can’t actually play it, but I sure do pretend to know what I am doing.

  7. Erin March 25, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    You are amazing for painting a piano that colour! I LOVE IT!!

  8. Martha Sneed August 25, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    Ok, I’m wanting to do this REALLY bad. My husband is a pianist and I was so happy to buy him a piano as a gift but it is ugly. Any chance you can give me any tips on how to do this?

    • Jill Denton August 26, 2011 at 12:43 am #

      Martha, do it! It will be soooo worth it. It was a task that took quite a bit of patience and some prep work, but once it was done I was for sure that the end result was worth every second. Here’s my top tips: 1. disassemble as much of the piano as possible .Our top lid, key lid, bench lid, window panels and some other pieces on ours was able to be unscrewed– this made painting all the detail spots so much easier. 2. DON’T use oil based paint. Many website suggested it, but my husband had me use latex water based paint and then seal it with a glossy polyurethane. It worked beautifully and was so easy to work with and clean up. 3. Be super patient and let it dry really really REALLY good in between coats and before reassembling the piano. 4. Cover the keys! Don’t get paint on the keys. I got a couple of spots on the keys and it was harder than I thought it would be to get it off.

      HOpe this helps. Email me if you have any other questions! jillcedenton@gmail.com

      • Kim September 14, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

        I just got a beautiful old piano, and it’s been painted white (looks like a long time ago). I would love to paint it a bright color, but I’m a little afraid of taking it apart…I’d love any other tips you have (brushes, technique, etc). Thanks for the ideas! Looks fantastic!

      • Jill Denton September 14, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

        DO IT! Paint that piano a bold color. I can’t imagine any reason why you’d regret it. As for tips, be sure to read my comment above– I wrote out a few tips to another reader. I wish I could give you instructions on how to take the piano apart, but I can’t. My husband was responsible for that and he just knew what to do. I think there are a couple of YouTube videos out there that would be helpful. Primer, Paint, Patience and Polyurethane are my main tips! Let me know if you tackle this– I’d love to see your result. Thank you for your comment! -Jill Denton

      • Martha Sneed September 21, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

        Fantastic. I’m so glad I found your blog! Thank you, thank you, thank you. We’re going to go for it!

  9. Anne Jackson August 29, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    You are amazing! Although I never doubted your skills with a paintbrush! :)

  10. Kim September 14, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Thanks – will do! I will definitely be blogging about it when the time comes…though that might not be for several months (we moved in a month ago, and now we’re planning our wedding as we try to unpack) :)

  11. Rebecca Clinger January 15, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

    Is it possible to share the color you chose for the piano? I’ve been thinking about painting mine, saw yours and now I’m ready to do it! I just love the color you chose!

    • Jill Denton January 19, 2013 at 10:58 am #

      Rebecca,
      Thank you! The color is named Party Time and it was purchased from our local Farrell Calhoun paint store. I hope this helps you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Day Vintage « Inside Out - March 26, 2011

    [...] While you are there, be sure to check out this past Thursday’s Upcycled post that featured my piano makeover.  I was super honored when Dana contacted me to see if she could feature me on her [...]

  2. A to Z « Inside Out - October 15, 2011

    [...] I. Instruments you play: Yeah right.  I can’t play the piano, but I can sure paint one. J. Job title:  What’s that? K. Kids: Yes, please! L. Live: In a cute little house that [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers

