Valentines, I Love You

9 Feb

I love Valentine’s Day.  A day that’s decorated with hearts, my favorite colors and promotes the eating of chocolate and conversation hearts is my kind of holiday.  Oh, and L-O-V-E is such a cute word!

For the past few years I have been hand making Valentines that I mail to friends and family.  This year I made somewhere around 45 of them!  Here’s a little peek at a few:

For the kids in my life, their Valentines included one of my favorite treats, Fun Dip!  I also included a little happy, a handmade felted heart magnet, for a few jilldentonART fans that happened to be online at the right time and got in on my Valentine sign-up.

I’ve told my husband, David on more than one occasion that I don’t want him to fall into the commercialized trap of thinking that he has to buy me some over indulgent gift, send me overpriced roses or plan some romantic giveaway to prove his love for me on V-Day.  I personally find the pressure to buy, give, surprise and out do last year’s gift just ridiculous.  We have exchanged gifts before on February 14th.  We’ve even gone out-to-eat at a nice restaurant.  And this year he’s definitely getting several handmade cards from me!

xoxo

2 Responses to “Valentines, I Love You”

  1. cvalentino February 9, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I mailed about 60 handmade valentines out today! I love Valentine’s Day and it is absolutely my favorite holiday! If there is anything better than celebrating love I don’t know what it is. And not just romantic love. Love for friends, family, pets, acquaintances, co-workers, etc. The world needs more love! YAY VALENTINE’S DAY!

    • Jill Denton February 15, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

      I got more Valentines this year than I have gotten in a long time! I used to only get one from Kandi and you. This year it tripled! I am hoping that it keeps increasing. I sent out a bunch and I am hoping that others catch on.

Leave a Reply

