I Wish You Could Have Known Them

23 Feb

It all happened so fast.  At the time it didn’t seem fast– it was long, painful, confusing, hard and I just kept wishing that it would all get better.  I never imagined that it would be so hard.  I had a few friends whose grandparents had passed away and at those times I just thought that’s what grandparents do– they get older and they pass away.  But now all of a sudden, it was my grandparents.  I found myself feeling a pain that I had never felt before in my lifetime.

In a 14 month time span, I lost three of my four grandparents.  I was 22 years old at the time.  Now, eight years later, I miss them more now than ever before.  My childhood floods with memories of them, their homes, the food they cooked, the toys that were only at their house, the smell of their house and all the other things that made them my grandparents.  They were truly GRAND!

“Grandparents are like parents, but with a lot of frosting!”

I tell my husband all the time, I wish you could have known them.  I wish you could have eaten Noni Red’s food,  ridden around Jonesboro in Nonnon VanCleve’s car listening to all his tales, I wish you could have seen Nonnon Marconi’s garden and tasted his cucumbers ’cause they are the best I have ever had.  I wish they could have met you, because they would have loved you.  I wish I could go back to when their health and minds were good and love them stronger, ask more questions, listen better and experience life with them just one more time.

 

There’s a little bit of all of them in me.  I’m for sure the most like my mom’s mother– we call her Noni E.  She’s still living.  There will be a post in the future all about her.


What do you do to hold on to the memories of your loved ones that have passed away?


5 Responses to “I Wish You Could Have Known Them”

  1. misty February 23, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    tears…. and i so agree.

  2. candice February 23, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Jill! I love this! I never knew the pain of losing someone close to you til my Meme died. I hang onto a few pieces of her jewelry and every once in a while – when I’m at her house visiting my Poppie – I go put on some of her perfume.

    btw…love your blog! didn’t even know you had one til today!

  3. Jill Denton February 24, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Candice, I love to smell something that reminds me of my grandparents.

    • Brenda Moreland February 24, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

      Jill I knew both sets of your GRANDS and you were surely blessed with some of the best. That is why your parents
      turned out the way they did and you and your siblings are GRAND. I miss the biscuits my grandmother made and would let us put sugar/butter or just choc. syrup, so simple but was wonder at the time and never taste the same at my house.

  4. Jill Denton February 26, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Mrs. Brenda,
    Thank you for your sweet, kind words about my grandparents! Those biscuits sound divine!
    love, Jill

Leave a Reply

