A Million Words

25 Feb

They say a picture is worth a thousand words.  Well, to me this one is worth a million words.

This is my dad with his prize winning cattle.  Some time around 1960.

 

I love everything about this picture.  I love the judges up top, especially the one in the hat with the cigarette hanging out of his mouth.  Look at the kids hiding out under the judges stand!  I love the clothing, my favorite part being my dad’s shirt that’s hanging on with only three buttons.  Look at my dad, he’s such a cutie pie.

Upon finding this picture the other night at my parent’s house, I got to hear many stories from my dad about raising cattle.  He got around $.47 per pound for this beauty back in the day.

4 Responses to “A Million Words”

  1. cvalentino February 25, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    What a cute photo! I love seeing old photos of my family. I asked my grandmother for Christmas one year for copies of her old photographs instead of something from a store. She put them in a little album and it was the best gift I could’ve received!

  2. KCC! February 25, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    !!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. misty February 26, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    how can you not love this classic picture !!

    and is that me with the cow? or dad? haha

  4. Jill Denton February 26, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    B, that sounds like the best gift ever!

    KCC, !!!!! x 10000000000000

    Mistany, I know! It’s you + dad + Benji! And Tucker!

Leave a Reply

