Studio Peek

28 Feb

I’m assuming you are like me and you love to see inside other people’s houses.  When I am driving along a street and I see an “Open House” sign, if time allows, I always stop in and take a look.  One of my favorite evening activities is driving around neighborhoods and finding homes with curtains open and lights on!  I’m not a creeper, I just find homes very interesting!

So here you are, here’s a peek inside my studio…

Here’s a good overall view.  I even straightened it up a bit just for you!

This is my awesome work table.  It’s big, it’s sturdy and it pretty much handles everything I throw its way!


JACKPOT!  This little shelf and all these containers keep my much used utensils handy.  And my window sill displays some of my little favorite arts.

 

I L-O-V-E peg board.  It’s functionality and cuteness and awesomeness satisfies a big part of my organizational needs.

I am of the type that cannot work in a cluttered space.  Nor can I handle cuteness if it doesn’t function.  In the seven years that I have had this space, I have probably rearranged and reorganized it at least 15 times or more.  Purging unnecessary stuff is so freeing for me.  Creating a space that is comfortable for me is a huge part of my productivity.  I think I have finally gotten rid of all the excess stuff and found the layout that best fits the space.  Also, I think I have finally figured out that just because something cool is on sale at 50% off if I don’t NEED it then don’t buy it–  leave it for someone else that does need it or that doesn’t need it and will have to dig it out and price it for their next garage sale.

I’m off to spend the day in the studio.  Happy day to you!

4 Responses to “Studio Peek”

  1. Jes February 28, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    LOVE!!

  2. Candice March 1, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    I SO love open houses too! We should go driving sometime! I agree about function! Practical living speaks loudly to me these days!

    • Jill Denton March 8, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      Sunday afternoons are the best time for Open Houses!

  3. Dana Douglas - Happy Day Vintage March 3, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    I love this space! It’s so organized and looks to inspire creativity. My fav is the table with random paint on it leaving memories of projects past. Mine looks the exact same way and I love it.

Leave a Reply

