Weddings & Caramel

3 Apr

My good friend got married this past Saturday.  It was a beautiful day for an outside wedding.  Here’s a couple of pictures that my husband snapped.

Congratulations Alastair & Christy!

On another note, I didn’t know that you could make delicious caramel by properly heating a can of Eagle Brand Sweet Condensed Milk– you boil the whole can, unopcened!  Before you attempt this, I’d Google it and read several different instructions, cautions and tips.  For instance:  remove the label, always keep the can covered with water, allow the can to cool before opening, etc.

Have you heard of this technique?  Am I just way behind the time? Here is the link to the very interesting article in The New York Times that I came across that introduced me to this yumminess.

2 Responses to “Weddings & Caramel”

  1. cvalentino April 3, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    WHAAAAAT!? I’m constantly reading baking blogs, have taken some culinary classes, and watch food network ALL THE TIME and I’ve never ever heard of that caramel technique! Insanity!

    And your friend’s wedding looks beautiful! I love the decorations!

    And you looked beautiful in your teal dress!

  2. Jill Denton April 3, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Brandi, I was flipping out when I ran across this article in The New York Times about the caramel making technique.
    http://dinersjournal.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/03/27/a-twist-on-condensed-milk/

    Thanks so much for your kind remarks about the wedding and my dress! It was the first time that I have worn a dress since my wedding day seven years ago!

Leave a Reply

