Forty-four Cent Challenge

18 Apr

I love handwritten letters in my mailbox.  Even more so, I love sending handwritten  letters to other people to find in their mailbox.  When was the last time you sent someone a personal note in the mail?  With current technology there are so many faster ways to communicate, but there are situations that demand the more personal, meaningful approach of actually using a pen, paper, envelope and stamp.

The Challenge:

Look for at least one opportunity a month to send someone a handwritten note.  There are people hurting that could use a word of encouragement.  Someone that has done something for you could use a thoughtful expression of gratitude.  Just look around, I guarantee that if you are willing, you will find a situation appropriately fitting for a note card and worthy of your forty-four cents.

Here are just a few of my favorite handmade note cards that I love to use:

Paper Lace by AshleyPahl

My Pickle Jar by Lisaorgler

Cherry Note Cards by Novachix

Carousel Card No.2 by Digtheearth

Will you take the challenge?  If so, I’d love to hear how it goes.  Happy writings!

8 Responses to “Forty-four Cent Challenge”

  1. sarah miles April 18, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    That is so true! A handwritten note can be so lovely and meaningful! I miss getting letters and notes in the mail. I will take your challenge!

  2. Jill Denton April 22, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    Sarah, write away! My hope for you is that you will receive a personal note in your mailbox some time soon! xoxo

    • sarahruthmiles April 25, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

      I’ve gotta hurry up and get stamps so I can mail out one before April is over! :) xoxo, sarah

  3. Kandi April 25, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    I agree so much. It’s so nice to receive a handwritten letter in the mail, it can really turn a bad day around! I accept this challenge!

  4. Kandi April 25, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Oh, also– I’ve almost purchased those paper lace cards before! And I LOVE those carousel cards!

  5. sarah May 15, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    I wish you could design a few stamps, jill! :) They’d be so much cuter than bells!

    • Jill Denton May 16, 2011 at 10:34 am #

      I know what you mean! There are some that are way cuter than the bells out there. Some times the West Memphis PO doesn’t have them in stock, but you can always order them from http://www.usps.com. I just got the Go Green ones (I bought them at the post office) and next time I wanna get the cute love flowers ones.

      • sarah May 16, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

        That’s right :) I’ll have to check out that site. Thanks Jill!

Leave a Reply

