Sweet Victory!

31 May

I mentioned a while back about getting invited to the 2011 Norcross Art Fest that will be taking place this fall in Georgia.  I received an email several months ago with some of the preliminary details for the artists and within that email was the announcement of the poster/tshirt contest.  I quickly skimmed over that part of the email and moved on to other things.  I’ve never quite felt the confidence of entering most contest, but especially an art contest of any kind.  Intimidation.  Fear.  Pride.

Well, some time went by and I never did give that contest another thought until just the other day when I received another email that was specifically about the poster/tshirt contest.  It was a reminder of the soon approaching deadline and it gave more details and the guidelines again.  This time I decided to read over it thoroughly. This time certain parts stood out to me:

“Norcross Art Fest is looking for a creative and colorful design that will be showcased on our 2011 poster and festival t-shirt….  This fun image will be used to promote the exciting fall event….  Artwork entered should capture the spirit and intent of the whimsical Norcross Art Fest, which is a fun and community-friendly event.”

Colorful!  Fun!  Whimsical!

I’m pretty sure I had hit the guideline jackpot!  Those three words are the most often used words to describe my artwork.  I got real excited then I got that weird, nervous stomach feeling.  “Nahhh, there are so many other artist that are far better than me…You won’t win…”  All sorts of negative thoughts came to mind, then I decided to fight against those thoughts and GO FOR IT!  For me this isn’t about winning or loosing the contest, it’s about winning a battle within.

I received MUCHO encouragement and support from my husband, which really pushed me to the “I’m definitely gonna do this” point.  Thank you, David.  xoxo

Thank you to my mom & sister who also cheered me on to DO IT!

I had a couple of concerns about the submission format (which included making sure you have good high resolution images) so I turned to my brilliant photographer and best friend, Kandi Cook for help in that area.  Kandi, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for all your help, time, patience and support!

So…….here are my two submissions

Norcross::White Dog Submission

Norcross::Red Balloon Submission

I’m not sure when the winner will be announced.  Today was the deadline for all submissions, so I am assuming that it will be in the next couple of weeks.  I really already feel like a winner just from entering this contest.  I know that sounds mega cheesy, but it really is how I feel.  I’ve battled the feelings of intimidation and fear for a long time about certain things, and I’ve lost way more battles than I won.  This time, it was a sweet victory, and for that I am very grateful.

“All art requires courage.” Anne Wilkes Tucker

14 Responses to “Sweet Victory!”

  1. cvalentino May 31, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    How fun! I love your designs and love that you were courageous and applied. It’s so scary to do stuff like that!

  2. Katee May 31, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Alright Jill! I LOVE both submissions! I am so proud of you for going for it! It’s true facing your fears is a victory in itself! Let the fear motivate you! Whoo hoo!

  3. Karen McAteer May 31, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Both are fabulous!!!!!!!! You are one of the most courageous people I have the privilege of knowing. Keeping my fingers crossed that you will win! But you are already a winner in my book! I am privileged to call you my friend.

  4. Donna May 31, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Jill, I am thrilled with your entries! Be bold, be strong for the Lord thy God is with thee!

  5. joyboudreau May 31, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    eeny meeny miny moe – I just don’t know! They are both So Colorful! Fun! and Whimsica!

  6. joyboudreau May 31, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    Whimsical! Sigh.

  7. sarah May 31, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    HOORAAAAAYYY JILL!!!! You did wonderful work, as always :) I’m very proud of you. You are blessed to have such wonderful family that believe in you. Thumbs up to Mrs. Marconi, Misty & David!! :) That was sweet of Kandi to help you. That’s what friends are for!

    Note: I’m hiring you to do engagement announcements (when the time comes) & Kandi can be the photograhper! :)

  8. sarah May 31, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Ugh *photographer at my wedding

  9. Carmen Carr May 31, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    I love both of them! So cute! And great job on conquering the internal beast :)

  10. Kandi May 31, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    I am so proud of you.

  11. Jill Denton June 1, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    Thanks a bunch for the great words of encouragement! It really does mean a lot to this gal. Thank you, thank you, thank you! xoxo

  12. Jes June 6, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    I would proudly wear either t-shirt! Btw, they would be silly not to pick you. :) Best of luck to you!! :)

    • Jill Denton June 7, 2011 at 10:08 am #

      Thanks so much, Jessica! You’re such a great encourager!

      xoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CRUNCH! « Inside Out - June 16, 2011

    […] didn’t win the tshirt/poster contest for the Norcross Art Fest, but I am sure glad I […]

Leave a Reply

