Preparation & Provision

16 Aug

A few months ago I accepted an invitation to the Norcorss Art Festival this fall.  At that time it seemed so far away, but now with about six weeks ahead of me I am feeling the pressure.  It’s a good kind of pressure.  I’ve still got enough time that I don’t have to stress, stay up way too late or work everyday of the week.  It’s just enough pressure that I have to work and plan more days out of the week than not.

 

So last week I spent quite a bit of time doing some planning.  I made a list of some supplies I need to buy and after that I just threw a blanket over my head hoping to find some money under there.  Ha.  Ha.   Yeah, right.

Two days later I got a message that I had sold TWO of my dog paintings from The White Dog Series.  Provision.  It’s enough money to cover the cost of some supplies plus some other expenses.  I would have been so excited to hear that news any day, but on that day I was EXTREMELY excited and a bit overwhelmed by God’s provision and goodness.  Those paintings have been for sale and hanging in our local cupcake shop for a looooong time now.  It’s no coincidence that they were purchased on that day.

Also, I’ve been brainstorming ideas for my booth display at the festival.  With trying to keep the cost down, I had come up with a few ideas using some recycled items.  I just needed to be able to get my hands on the right stuff.  This weekend our neighbors tore down part of their wooden fence and set the wood on the side of the road as trash.  Their trash was truly my treasure!   Something good is gonna come out of this:

 

And here’s one other really cool thing that happened today.  I’ve gotta plan for “rain or shine” for the outdoor festival so I’ve been looking at canopy tents.  I need a certain size.  I also have some personal preferences that it be white and have walls.  DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH THESE THINGS COST?!?  Anywhere from $89.95 + $35.95 s&h to $259.99!  Gulp!  I don’t think so.  So I was willing to settle for the $49 one at Wal-Mart that’s khaki in color with no walls.  Today I decided one more time to search online for a better deal.  And, yep, I found exactly what I was looking for on eBay for $54.99 with FREE SHIPPING!  Oh. My. Word!  I really thought it was too good to be true so I had David scope it out.  It’ll be here next week!

 

I knew months ago it was meant for me to go to Norcross for this show.  Last week I began to worry and wonder if I had made a mistake.  I now know the only mistake I made was not having the faith to trust God that He would provide.

7 Responses to “Preparation & Provision”

  1. joyboudreau August 16, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    That was a pleasure to read. It’s what faith and promise look like.

  2. eatsleepandrun.blogspot.com August 16, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    Hey Jill, I passed my blog award onto you -check my most recent post out (you’re at the bottom)!

  3. Jill Denton August 17, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    Mrs. Joy, thank you so much for your encouragement! I’m glad you enjoyed reading this post. : )

    Stef, Thanks so much! I’ll be checking that out!

  4. thomasfamTrish August 17, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Jill, so glad I found your blog! I love your art and your honest approach. I put you inmy reader, so I’ll be a regular here. :)
    So excited for this upcoming art festival – hope it goes well!
    -Trish

    • Jill Denton August 17, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

      Trish! It’s so good to hear from you. Thank you for your kind words!

  5. Kandi August 17, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    I am so happy for you! Sales, fence wood, canopies, oh my!

Leave a Reply

