So All Ye Weary Come And Rest

29 Aug

I find myself among the weary at times.  Anxious and worrying.

I find myself leaning upon myself for strength and wisdom.  Empty and failing.

Only God can handle the weight of my soul.  Only in Him will I find rest.

 

Here are the lyrics to Shane and Shane’s song titled Psalm 62.  Read it.  Meditate on it.  Below is a link to hear it.  Click it.  Listen to it.

He’s the only one
Strong enough to lean
My heaviness against
The weight of all my sin
Falling on a rock
Leaning on a fortress
Oh the wall of God, Jesus
He won’t move

On God I rest
My salvation
My fortress
Shall not be shaken
My mighty rock
And my glorious
I lay my head upon His chest
On God I rest

Oh I am calling out
Oh my soul
Oh my stubborn soul
Won’t you wait on Him
Wait in the quiet
Even in your fear
Oh your God is here, to lean on!
He won’t move

He has spoken
Hear his voice
I have come for the broken
So all ye weary come and rest

Link to hear this song:  Psalm 62 by Shane & Shane

 

 

For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.   He only is my rock and my salvation,  my fortress; I shall not be shaken.  On God rests my salvation and my glory;  my mighty rock, my refuge is God.  Trust in him at all times, O people;  pour out your heart before him;  God is a refuge for us.  Psalm 62:5-8

5 Responses to “So All Ye Weary Come And Rest”

  1. Amy B. August 29, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Oh, how I have been anxious lately. Thank you for the reminder to rest in Him, my Rock and Salvation! I needed this today.

  2. Stef Arnold August 30, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    Thanks Jill. Loved this and needed this. Love you!

  3. sarah August 30, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    I really like this post, Jill. Hopefully we can find a date to get together. Your birthday is coming up also :) September 4th, right? Have a nice day!!

  4. Jill Denton September 1, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I’m grateful to hear that this word encouraged your heart. God is so good.
    xoxo love you all!

  5. Jill Denton September 1, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Sarah! Yes, that is my birthday. I’m very excited about it. : )

Leave a Reply

