Birthday Love & Art Giveaway

3 Sep

Happy Birthday To Me

Tomorrow, September 4 is my birthday.  My mom’s due date for me was actually a couple of weeks earlier in August, but I am glad she made the decision to have me naturally and trusted God’s timing for my arrival.  I love having a birthday in S E P T E M B E R.

FUN FACTS ABOUT MY BIRTHDAY:

  • Born a couple of weeks after my due date
  • Born during the 1980 Heat Wave into the home of a farmer who lost a lot of his crops
  • I had a swimming party every year while growing up.  E-v-e-r-y year.
  • 16th birthday was a surprise party–  I knew about it, but faked being super surprised
  • I always have strawberry cake for my birthday.
  • This year I’m having this cake.
  • My favorite childhood birthday gift:  My First Bank was an awesome bank kit that came with fake checks and forms with carbon copies–  this girl’s dream come true!  I still love playing bank, writing checks and filling out forms!

BIRTHDAY LOVE ART GIVEAWAY

Everybody that leaves a comment on this blog post telling me something about their birthday OR writes on my Facebook to wish me a happy birthday will be entered into a drawing for a chance to win a birthday gift from me on their birthday!  Yep, if your name gets drawn I will send a piece of art to you in the mail on YOUR BIRTHDAY!

COMMENT ON THIS POST & INCLUDE A FACT ABOUT YOUR BIRTHDAY*

or

WISH ME A HAPPY BIRTHDAY ON FACEBOOK*

*to be included in the drawing your comment must be made between now and September 4, 2011, 11:59pm CST

 

14 Responses to “Birthday Love & Art Giveaway”

  1. KCC September 3, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Fun fact about my birthday: My mom had gone into labor prematurely and was put on some oral medication to stop it. Since the medicine was new and iffy, she decided one morning she wasn’t going to take it anymore. And I was born that night. Also: HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

  2. Jeri Brewer September 3, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    The best part of my birthday is that I share the day with my Dad! We celebrate on or around Thanksgiving every year.

  3. Auntie Sue September 3, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Happy Happy Birthday Jill Mam!!!!!
    I’ll just come and collect my prize in person…NOEL!!!!! lol!!!
    Love you lots..Hope you’re having an awesome Birthday weekend!!!
    AS

  4. sarah September 3, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    A nurse that made my footprints also put one a the scrub top my Dad was wearing. My aunt said he came strutting down the hallway to the waiting room to announce my birth with a huge grin. He was so proud. Also my aunt’s birthday is 2 days after mine. The year I was born everyone forgot her birthday because they were so excited over me. I was the first born grandchild on both sides of my family.

    Hope you have a very Happy Birthday tomorrow!! :)

  5. sarah September 3, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    The strawberry coconut cake sounds so delicious!

  6. Jes September 3, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    Happy (early) birthday!! My mom went 4 weeks over with me. I was suppose to be a November birthday girl, but I was born on December 3, 1983 instead. I love the number three…and even married a man who was born on the 3rd of October of the same year. :) Even though my son missed the memo and was born on the 6th of August, we figured that it still worked because two threes make a six. :) I hope you have a wonderful day celebrating YOU!! (Your birthday cake looks SO good!!!). :)

  7. Karen McAteer September 4, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    Happy Birthday Jill first of all!!!! A fact about my birthday is that every year until my mom passed away my birthday cake was heart shaped since my birthday is February 12th…….I so looked forward to that heart shaped cake every year! I was a big kid before I realized how easy it was to find a heart shaped cake on February 12th!!!!!!! lol

    • Jill Denton September 4, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      Karen, that is so so sweet! I love it!

  8. Angel Montgomery September 4, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    On my birthday May 7, 2011, I turned 40!! Ordered my cake from Westside Cakes and it was the Mint Chocolate round one and was soooo yummy.

  9. Stef Arnold September 5, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    I know I’m late, but I don’t care :)
    Your cake looks amazing! You’ll have to tell us how you liked it. I’m learning to cook with coconut more these days.
    I love your Mom for waiting to let you come when you were ready – what an amazing woman! That’s very rare these days.

    My birthday, February 6th, is the same as Ronald Reagan’s and he was always my favorite President because of that :)
    Also, the Dr’s argued with my Mom through her whole pregnancy, telling her she was due in the middle of March, because my head was small.
    My Mom told them she knew when she got pregnant with me and knew I was going to come around February 8th.
    She said the best day of her life was on February 6th, when her Dr. decided to do one final ultra sound to prove her wrong and when they hooked her up to the machine, her water broke and I was born a few hours later.
    Victory :)

    • Jill Denton September 5, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

      Stef, The cake was a.ma.zing! The combination of the fresh strawberries and sweet coconut is divine! I love your birth date story. : )
      I’m including you in the drawing for the birthday art. I’ll have the drawing some time tomorrow. xoxo

  10. Trish Thomas September 6, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    I hope I haven’t missed the drawing! Happy birthday (a little late) Jill! My birthday story includes a discovered hole in my heart – but I can praise God that over the space of about 12 yrs. it healed to a very tiny hole and I was declared healthy and most likely never in need of heart surgery!

    • Jill Denton September 6, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      Trish, that is amazing!
      I had already drew my name for the winner by the time you posted this comment, so I didn’t get your name in the drawing. I’m so sorry. However, the good news is that I host art giveaways pretty often. So stay tuned for more opportunities in the future! xoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Birthday Giveaway :: We Have A Winner « Inside Out - September 6, 2011

    […] couple of days ago I announced that I was going to hold an art giveaway in celebration of my birthday.  To get in on the action all you had to do was either comment on the blog post or wish me a happy […]

Leave a Reply

