Happy Birthday, Noni

7 Oct

Yesterday was my grandmother’s 87th birthday.  She’s my only living grandparent and for the last few years she has lived at Broadway Health Care where she receives wonderful care from their staff.  She has Alzheimer’s Disease.  She has good days and bad days.  Most days are good ones.  She is very content and for that I am very grateful.

So yesterday my mom and I went to visit her and we brought her a cake.  She has always loved sweets.  She was quick to tell my mom that she wanted a corner piece!  Ha, ha!  It was so cute.  She didn’t know who I was, but she knew she wanted a corner piece of that cake and an icing flower.

It was a sweet time with her.  I’m grateful for the wonderful weather that we had yesterday so we could sit outside on the patio.  I snapped this picture of her with my cellphone–  it was so funny because she kept leaning over and scraping her fork along the whole cake to get the icing and the brown gooey crusty stuff that’s left behind on the cardboard.  I finally just scooted the whole cake closer to her.

Orange is her favorite color.  She has an eye for details unlike anyone I have ever met.  She use to hand make my mom’s clothes when my mom was growing up.  She was the Paula Deen of her days–  everything she made had a stick of butter in it.  She taught me how to play Go Fish.  My obsession for little things, ink pens and organization comes from her.  She would have my head if she knew I painted her secretary’s desk green or the fact that I painted it at all.  I can still remember the smell of her home and I love it on days when i walk into my home and mine resembles it.  I now understand why she would stand at the window and watch the birds and squirrels in her backyard–  I do the same thing.  I’m pretty sure that out of all my grandparents, I am the most like her.  xoxo

I just wanted to write this little post to honor her even though she has no idea what a blog is, or the internet or a computer.

Happy birthday, Noni!  I love you!

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Noni”

  1. Larry Denton October 7, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    My Sweet Jill,

    I just loved your writing and insightfulness about Noni and you and your Mom taking her a cake!! So So Sweet!!! It actually brought tears to my eyes reading it!! God Bless You Sweet Daughter-in-law.

    Love, Daddy

  2. sarah October 7, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Oh my gosh how sweet is that! I had a tear rolling down my cheek by the end of your post. What a nice way to honor such a special person in your life.

    • Brenda Moreland October 7, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

      That was sweet. I to am making memories with my 85 year old mom with Alzheimer’s disease. We have good days and bad. The good days are very special to me and the bad ones pass pretty fast and are forgotten. I knew your grandma, as your mom knew my mom.
      So glad you all had a good Birthday and tell you mom hi for me. Brenda Glenda

  3. KCC October 10, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    Jill, this post was so touching. Happy Birthday, Noni!

Leave a Reply

