Home Giveaway

1 Nov

Hey y’all!  Remember me?  It’s been a while.  You know, life happens and some things have to take the backseat.  But here I am and I’m back with some fun stuff–  A GIVEAWAY!

I love home.  I love the place of feeling completely comfortable while being surrounded by the familiar smells and sounds of home and the lives with whom I share it.

I’d say home is one of the nicest words.

Here’s one of my favorite spots in my home.  I find myself sitting on this end of the sofa often.  I read here, eat here, pay bills here, watch movies from here and pretty much any other activity that involves me needing a place to sit.  I’ve had that love pillow for a very long time.  My mom made it for me when I was a teenager.  It’s special.  The White Dog painting is the first and original White Dog that I did.  It has a lot of meaning wrapped up in it.   I love this space!


I’ve had this little white chair since I was a teenager.  It’s all beat up and I love it that way.  The seat has had many different coverings and this lovely plaid is the newest one.  I had an old flannel shirt that I had kept for a long time just so I could use the fabric someday.  It gave this little old wooden chair the cozy fall/winter look that I had hoped for!  And that adorable round yellow polka dot pillow is one of my favorite garage sale finds.  I paid fifty cents for it!

 

It’s peppermint hot cocoa season, so my kitchen is stocked with these little guys.

 

H O M E  G I V E A W A Y

I’m giving away this 10 x 10 original mixed media painting on canvas to one of my readers.  I will mail this painting along with some other little happies to the winner of this HOME GIVEAWAY.  Instructions for entering are below.

To enter, please comment on this blog post telling me one or more of the following:

  • What is home to you?
  • What is your favorite thing about home?
  • What is one of your fall/winter traditions?

One comment per person, Giveaway ends Tuesday November 8 at 12 noon/CST, Winner will be announced Tuesday November 8 at 7pm/CST, Please be sure to include contact information with your comment.  Happy Entering!

16 Responses to “Home Giveaway”

  1. Sue Stoddard November 1, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    I sure do love your paintings, Jill Mam!!! This would look so nice in my home!!! Love you ans am sooo proud of you!
    Auntie Sue

  2. cindy November 1, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Jill, I just love your paintings! I hope I win.

  3. Stef Arnold November 1, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    yay! what a fun/cute giveaway! I love the brightness and cheeryness of that picture.
    Home is where my family is.
    Home is messy, but cozy and usually has happy sounds throughout it.
    Some fall traditions we have are carving pumpkins, making food with the pumpkin guts :)
    collecting leaves and making crafts with them
    caramel dipped apples
    lots of sitting by the fires
    talking about what we’re most thankful for, every night at dinner.

  4. Lea Ann November 1, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    I love that quote, “HOME is wherever I am with you”! I love when both kids are home and we are all in the same room just hanging out….together! Would love to have your “home” painting in our home.

  5. Karen McAteer November 1, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    I had always felt that “Home” is where you mom is. Well, my mom has been gone just a few days short of 11 years and to me “Home” is where your heart is (and my mom will always be in my heart). My home is always a buzz with activity with Jessica, Kevin, Eli and Gracie Bell….and I absolutely LOVE IT! I love the messiness the kids create (and I don’t just mean Eli and Gracie Bell). Spiced Cider is our fall tradition and playing in the leaves in the backyard! I guess my favorite place at my “Home” is my swing in the backyard. It was a gift from Jessica and Kevin a few years back and I go out there and sit (hot or cold) and just let my mind wonder to wherever it might go! But bottom line to me “home” is where your heart is….and in my case it is definitely with FAMILY and GOD because without either I am nothing!

  6. Ginger Bond November 1, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Home is a safe place to me where I can get away from everyday choas that this world brings. Whatever happen to the simple life? It is a place I love to spend time with Ridgely and with my sisters girls since they are next door. Family fall traditions include football watching, and have bonfires out at the barn for the kids! I love your work and would really love to win your giveaway. But home is also where there is always an open invite for all my friends that I call family to always feel welcome!

  7. Patty McConnell November 1, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    Home is the BEST abode. Love it, love it, love it and can’t get enough of it. Co-workers don’t understand why I say no to going places after work (to dinner, movie, etc)—I want to go home where it is warm in the winter, cool in the summer and I have a wonderful husband with a smile on his face waiting on me. I love sitting in my chair reading the paper, studying the Bible, looking out the window. Does not matter if there is noise or silence–I love my home. Would love to win the painting maybe I can get you to paint me one if I don’t. Take care.

  8. amanda davis November 1, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    I feel at home at my parents farm. There is nothing like going home for the weekend and letting all your stress melt away. I love the peace and quiet that is offered there and of course…MOM’s cooking…:). One of my favorite winter traditions is my annual ornament/cookie exchange party. I have it every year and it is the most fun. Love your paintings and hope i win. :)

  9. Ashli November 2, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    In going to college, I really learned that home is much more of a feeling than a particular place. I not only have been blessed with a great family at my “home home” (in Arkansas) but also a newer family (of friends) at “home” in Mississippi (& now all over the US/World.)

  10. Tammy Rimmer McCain November 2, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    My favorite thing about home is that no matter what kind of a day I’ve had, it always welcomes me back. The laughter and sound of little feet running around, the warmth (unless the heater stops working again), the smell of a roast in the crock pot, the hugs and kisses, the fresh pot of coffee… :)

  11. David M. Denton (aka DMDMDMDMD) November 2, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    • What is home to you?
    I used to think the phrase “Home is Where the Heart Is” was cheese-ball, however, as I have matured (barely) I have realized that the reason everyone and their sister thinks fondly of that phrase is because they usually have great memories there! What is there to NOT like about a home? Well, besides the dust, and the dishes, and the laundry, a home is where you can be you. In My home is where you will find peace, joy, and plenty of rest for my weary soul! Let’s not take our peaceful homes for granted. As I teach youth every week, most of them come from broken homes, and dysfunctional homes. No wonder they stay far away from their homes and turn to other “things” to bring about peace and joy.
    • What is your favorite thing about home?
    Have you ever noticed when you go into your friends house that there is usually a distinct smell? And that that smell is the “Family Smell” for that specific family? My house is no exception!! When you enter my home, sometimes the smell will knock you over, sometimes the smell is a crock-pot of stew or something baking in the oven waiting to be served! I love each and every smell. I also enjoy my red leather chair. It is more in the reclined position than the sitting up one! I also love my bed. No bed comes close to the comfort and relaxation of this divine mattress assembly! It does not have a name-brand like Serta, or Temper-pedic, it just has one name . . . David (and it calls out to me often)!
    • What is one of your fall/winter traditions?
    As a family, I love to go to the small-town parades. I love to see how loud the sirens will be from the volunteer fire trucks, and I love to take peeps that I love – my nieces and nephews especially. One tradition that began recently is spending Christmas Eve night at my in-laws – along with the rest of the nieces and nephews! A TOTAL BLAST!!! We play games till our minds hurt, laugh ‘till our cheeks hurt and we play with their newest Lego set or Play-mobile set until the people that we are playing with get sick of staring at us!! And let’s not forget the delish food. . . ‘nuff said!! All in all, it’s about the family!!

  12. Denise Hall November 3, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    Home to me is a place to spend time with your family.My favorite thing about home spending time in Gods Word first , cooking, watching movies . My most fall/winter traditions is decorating for the holidays .Sitting on the couch smelling the aroma of the fireplace burning.Enjoy drinking hot tea ,apple cider , or hot chocolate.Watching the leaves turn to different colors.The snow falling in the winter. Listing to Christmas Songs .Your paintings are awesome .

  13. Donna L. Hogue November 4, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Home is where you are always welcome, no matter how badly or bruised you may be, you have acceptance, love and encouragement and hopefully your first words of faith were uttered there. I don’t know if I have a favorite spot, but if I had to choose just one thing about my home that I really love, it would have to be my kitchen. Love is poured out there in huge doses, while reading the Scriptures to my children, preparing the meals for my family and big chunks of advice are always served up hot and juicy!LOL Our favorite Christmas tradition is to hang a lighted cross on our front door and to read The Best Christmas Pageant Ever. My children have already started in on me to read it! Home is one of the nicest words we will ever hear or ever say. When we all get to heaven we will hear “Welcome Home!”

  14. Larry Denton November 4, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    Jill Dear, I not only love your website and blogs, but I also love your paintings and your creativity and simplicity in them!!

    Home to me is a place of joy, love, peace (most of the time) children, grandchildren, friends, family, and a place where Christ is present.

    Favorite thing about home is security, comfort, and a refuge

    A fall/winter tradition we have had ever since I can remember is going to cut down Christmas Trees with family members.

  15. Nancy Fogleman November 7, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Home is family. My sons are now men and I cherish every minute they choose to spend back in the home in which they grew up. As the holiday season approaches I can hardly wait to have them back here. I am spending this week and next filling my freezer, fridge and pantry with foods they love. We all win. They get Mom’s cooking; I get to enjoy them!
    Nancy’s cell is 870-636-1923

  16. Jana Smith November 7, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Home is where husband and I are at. Not the place itself, made of bricks or wood. But it is where we are together. My favorite thing about my home is that it is an extention of us. It shows our personality. Other people might have the same layout of apartment or house but it is the people who live in it that make it different and special. Now that we are married a new tradition will be to carve a pumpkin and to watch Charlie Brown Holloween Special. In the winter we will be sure to have a tree with an array of ornaments (none that match) and hang our stockings. Charlie Brown Christmas is a MUST along with the classic christmas movies (holiday Inn, White Christmas, The Christmas Story, etc) Other than that we will just have to wait and see…. :)

Leave a Reply

