Not By Sight

3 Jan

Years ago my mom gave me this little postcard.  I loved it, framed it, hung it and even brought it with me to my new home after I got married.  It currently hangs in our kitchen.  All this to say, I’ve known this Bible verse for years.  It’s been IN MY SIGHT  for years, no pun intended.  It wasn’t until this past year I was challenged with what does it MEAN to walk by faith.

What does it mean to walk by faith?

As this challenge came upon me, God so gently pointed out so many areas of disbelief in my life.  Disbelief does not equal faith.  I kept crying out to God that I wanted to have faith in Him, then again He gently showed me you can’t have FAITH in something you don’t KNOW– my faith was weak because my view of God was weak.  My view of God was weak because my time in HIS WORD was weak.

“Faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the word of God” Romans 10:17

As I have been in His word, my faith has been strengthened BY Him and therefore now I can see what WALKING BY FAITH looks like.  It’s having peace knowing that God is good and His ways are far better than mine.  It’s resting while life happens knowing that God is in control of every speck of my life.  It’s believing in Him and that He will work all things together for good.  More personally, it’s freedom from worry if this medicine is going to work, it’s trusting my husband’s decisions over doing things my way, it’s courage to be obedient when God tells me to build an ark, it’s trust in God that His promise of a child will be fulfilled in His timing,  it’s believing that His grace is sufficient for me,  it’s receiving love and forgiveness from God so that I can love and forgive those around me, it’s peace that passes all understanding.

“And without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a rewarder of those who seek Him.”  Hebrews 11:6

So with this at heart I look back at 2011 and I thank Him for His goodness to me and I look forward to 2012 having faith in Him to carry me through it step-by-step.

For these things I say, “for from Him and through Him and to Him are all things.  To Him be the glory forever. Amen.” Romans 11:36

5 Responses to “Not By Sight”

  1. Karen McAteer January 3, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    Thank you for this post today……I so needed to read “hear” this today of all days!!!!!!!!

  2. Donna L. Hogue January 3, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Wonderful, Jill!!! I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Larry Denton January 4, 2012 at 12:25 am #

    Jill, the comment that meant a lot to me was ” God saying you cannot have faith in something you do not know”. Very Inspiring!!

    Daddy

  4. Angel Montgomery January 4, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Thank you for sharing this Jill. I have been pondering some of the same thoughts the past few days. It is such an encouragement to know that I am not alone and that God is there to see me through as long as I stay grounded in His Word. <3 ya.

  5. Jill Denton January 26, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    In my attempt to be honest, open and share my heart I am so grateful that God used these words to challenge, bless or encourage others. Thanks and praise be to Him!

Leave a Reply

