The Best Mushy Love Ever

13 Feb

I love salsa so much.  There’s a restaurant that we go to just so I can eat the salsa, but I have to order something so that I don’t feel bad for eating the complimentary salsa and chips they give you.  I love salsa more than I love any other food except toast.  But toast is just a one time eat, salsa you get to dip eat dip eat dip eat, so it’s way more fun to eat!  Maybe I do love salsa more than toast.  I have tried several different homemade salsa recipes, but most of them just end up tasting like a good serving of pico de gallo….which isn’t a bad thing, because I love that too, but when your mouth is watering for a certain salsa taste, pico de gallo doesn’t satisfy.

I have had many different types of salsa and most of them I have really enjoyed.  There have been a few that were disgusting.  There is an ultimate salsa texture and flavor that I long for and I think I finally have the recipe in my hand and a fresh bowl of it in my refrigerator!  I was inspired by the Pioneer Woman’s Restaurant Style Salsa post from her website.  I knew the second I read her recipe and saw her pictures that she was on to something that was right up my alley.   I also knew right away that I was going to have to tweak her recipe just a little bit to suite my taste.  So here it is…something that I like to call the Best Salsa Ever.

I have to tell you, forever I was against any salsa recipe that didn’t use fresh from the garden tomatoes.  But this recipe proved me wrong.  However, in the summer I use those fresh garden tomatoes for a great chunky pico de gallo.  For me they don’t create the right texture when pureed.  Just try this recipe.  You’ll love the taste and how easy it is to make!

**Author’s note:  The last few times I have made this recipe, I have left out the Rotel completely and added a tad bit more garlic, onion & jalapeno and I’ve loved it even more than this original recipe.     updated 03/28/12

Salsa:  The best mushy love ever!

6 Responses to “The Best Mushy Love Ever”

  1. KCC February 13, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    I used to insist on fresh tomatoes, too until one day when i used a can of crushed tomatoes and fell in love! Sub crushed for whole and subtract rotel and this is almost my exact recipe.. Yum!

  2. Candice February 13, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Yum! I’ll try this…

    Salsa might be my favorite food too!

    When you go to Mi Pueblo-ask them for the salsa with fresh cilantro. They don’t charge for it and it’s so much better than the salsa they usually bring out.

  3. Gigi Wright February 13, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    Love this salsa! I use a whole can of rotel because I like spicy! You can almost eat it with a spoon!

  4. Jill Denton February 14, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    KCC, it’s the best ever & it’s even better today!

    Candice, I know you love salsa a lot too…You gotta try this recipe. It. Is. The. Bomb! I rarely go to Mi Pueblo mainly because I didn’t like their salsa at all. But next time I go, I’ll ask for the better kind and give it a try.

    Gigi, I did eat some of this salsa with a spoon! haha!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Salsa (plus recipe) « superkantastic - March 28, 2012

    […] friend Jill posted a similar yummy salsa recipe on her blog not too long ago- check it […]

  2. Salsa Recipe – Easy to Make and Delicious Homemade Recipes | salsaanyonetoday - April 1, 2012

    […] Fruit Salsa Recipe for Kids – Baby Matters Blog Baby Matters BlogBlack Bean and Corn SalsaKiwi SalsaThe Best Mushy Love Ever body { background-color: #bac7f8; […]

Leave a Reply

