Day By Day

2 Mar

In the 1800’s at 26 years of age, Karolina Wilhelmina Sandell-Berg accompained her father on a trip by boat that ended in the tragedy of his death.  With a sudden jerk of the boat her father was sent overboard into the torrent waters and his life ended as she watched.

26 years old.  She watches her father die.  Pain.  Trial.  Fear.

Some time after that event she wrote these words:

Day by day, and with each passing moment,
Strength I find, to meet my trials here;
Trusting in my Father’s wise bestowment,
I’ve no cause for worry or for fear.
He Whose heart is kind beyond all measure
Gives unto each day what He deems best—
Lovingly, its part of pain and pleasure,
Mingling toil with peace and rest


It’s evident by her words “…gives unto each day what He deems best…” that this young lady had a resting peace in the sovereignty of God.  And because she knew peace and rest in this situation it is evident that she knew God, heard His voice and followed Him.

My trials, tribulations, troubles, difficulties seems are so small in comparison with this.  But let’s not compare.  We all have things in our life that cause us to fear, worry, hurt or feel distressed.  So, whatever it is, size doesn’t matter.  WHATEVER IT IS happens for a purpose.  My soul was so encouraged this morning when I read this text:

““My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. 10 Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong.” II Corinthians 12:9-10

My weaknesses–  insults, distresses, persecutions and difficulties– situations that make me look and feel weak.  I often want to escape them.  Avoid them.  Don’t we all?  If I had the human power to remove them, I’m sure I would.  But God in His wisdom and lovingkindness knows what is best– that when I am weak, when I am insulted, distressed, persecuted and faced with difficulties that’s really when I become strong because by His grace alone I become TOTALLY RELIABLE ON HIM.  That is strength.  Humble, leaning on the Rock.  And in that God is glorified, His grace and power are displayed.  His grace, His grace, His grace is sufficient.

II Corinthians 12:9                                                                   Printable Scripture on Etsy

This is my comfort in my affliction,
That Your word has revived me.  Psalm 119:50

Coming up next week on Inside Out:  Misty Collins Pottery Giveaway, Mini Home Tour & BIG jilldentonART sale!

5 Responses to “Day By Day”

  1. Stef March 3, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    I burst into tears when I saw the verse in the frame. It was all good, no worries.
    God gave me that verse when we lost Micah and its what carried me through last year. I love how He does that with a few simple words. Those beautiful reminders that HE IS all we need… I love them.

    I loved this post. Thank you, Jill.

    • Jill Denton March 3, 2012 at 11:10 am #

      Stef, I’m not sure whether or not you are a fan of music by Shane & Shane– they have a song on their newest album called Grace is Sufficient. God used His word this week to challenge me and comfort me in my weakness. He is so good.

      • Stef March 3, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

        Thanks! I’ll check it out. I’ve never heard of them :)

      • Jill Denton March 3, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

        Oh! I hope I’ve just introduced you into something new that you love. They are my favorite musicians. I’m totally sending you a CD mix of their music.

  2. joyboudreau March 4, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Amen.

Leave a Reply

