Road Trip Cookies

10 Apr

A couple of years ago my husband and I took a West coast road trip that included spending a few days in California with family.  We spent one of our nights at our Auntie Sue’s house and the next day when we left her house to continue on up the coast, she handed us a pink bakery box filled with what she called Chewies.  They were the most delicious light, chewy, chocolatey cookies– kinda crispy on the outside and soft in the middle, thin and perfect!  These cookies came from a local bakery in San Jose called Dick’s Bakery.  So for the next several days as we traveled the coast, I would snack on those Chewies!

I’ve never forgotten those cookies.  That was almost two years ago.  I started searching online for recipes that I thought would resemble Dick’s Chewies.  After reading several recipes and modifying one of my own, I think I hit the jackpot!

Auntie Sue is coming for a visit today so I made these yummy dudes.  I like to call them Road Trip Cookies, but they really are chocolate flourless cookies.

 

Road Trip Cookies // Chocolate Flourless Cookies

  • 3 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 large egg whites, room temperature
  • 1 Tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups milk chocolate chips
  • parchment paper

1.Preheat oven 350 degrees

2. Place parchment paper on a sided cookie sheet.  Light mist with non stick spray.  These cookies are delicate, so you want to insure no sticking takes place.

3.  In a large bowl whisk together confectioner’s sugar, cocoa powder and salt.

4. Whisk in egg whites and vanilla until batter is moistened (batter should be thick, but not dry–if dry add an additional egg white)

5. Gently fold in chocolate chips.

6. Scoop out about 1 Tbsp of batter per cookie.  Cookies will spread out to 3-4 inches so space them far apart.

7. Bake approximately 13 minutes.

8.  After baked, transfer parchment paper with cookies on it to a cooling rack and allow them to cool completely before removing.

9.  Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Road Trip Cookies”

  1. Robin December 11, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    THANK YOU soooo much! My Mother had a recipe for these cookies and since she passed away 25 yrs ago, I have tried to figure out the secret. Dick’s would only confirm the 4 ingredients and not the measurements. If you want, I can tell you which 4 they are. Thanks again, you are my savior!

    • KP August 14, 2015 at 12:29 pm #

      What “are” the four ingredients? The same as this recipe?

Leave a Reply

