Chewy Chunky Granola

5 Jan

nola2Homemade Chewy Chunky Granola

I’ve been obsessed with this granola that I buy from Whole Foods market– it’s so chewy and chunky and full of flavor.  I decided to take a look at the ingredients label and realized it was very straight forward.  Then I searched the internet to find recipes for chewy granola that included similar ingredients so I could get my measurements right.  After a little playing around I got what I was looking for.  I made around 10 batches of this a few weeks ago and packaged it up to pass out for a Christmas treat.  In the process I made a couple of batches for our house.  I’ve been surprised with how well it has kept fresh sealed up in an airtight container.

Dry Ingredients:

  • 3 cups oats
  • 2 cups slivered almonds
  • 2 cups dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 flaxseed
  • dash of salt

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 4 TBSP canola oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • dash of salt

What To Do:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Line a large baking pan with parchment paper
  • Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl
  • Combine wet ingredients in a medium saucepan over medium heat until thoroughly heated and begins foaming.  Keep on heat for 15-20 seconds after foaming starts
  • Pour wet mixture over dry ingredients and stir until well combined
  • Pour granola onto baking sheet and press to about 1/2 inch thick
  • Bake for 30 minutes, until golden brown
  • Must cool completely before breaking it up into chunks
  • Store in an airtight container

 

granola

 

 

4 Responses to “Chewy Chunky Granola”

  1. eatsleepandrun January 8, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    num, num!! I’m going to make this later in the week. Kara has requested that I add chocolate chips :)

  2. lauren August 18, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    I was looking to reproduce the same granola from whole foods – chunky flaxseed granola? Looking forward to making a batch right now. Thanks!

  3. Lis January 28, 2014 at 8:50 pm #

    Thank you sharing my exact thoughts and working the recipe bcz granola from whole foods was getting expensive.. Cant wait to try recipe.. You Rock…

  4. Christina August 6, 2014 at 3:35 pm #

    I made this and it’s quite wonderful. My only thing is…I totally burned the first batch because of the high temperature and long cooking time. The second time around, I lowered the temperature to 300 and baked for 20 minutes. It’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

