Little One & Memories With A Recipe

11 Jan

One day it will be your sweet cry

And then the sound of your laughter,

One day it will be your voice speak, 

But today it’s your beautiful heartbeat.

~the most beautiful sound to me~

Today I went for my four month check-up! Yes, it is so hard for David and I to believe that it has been already been 16 weeks since we have been given this miracle.  We are so grateful that we were able to hear our Little One’s heartbeat, so strong and so clear!  For this we give thanks to our Lord.

I’m pretty sure I’ve gotten over the big hump of the early pregnancy nausea and fatigue.  It feels so good to have some of my energy back and it especially feels good to be able to grocery shop and cook again!  I know David is glad about that too!  I’m definitely experiencing issues with food, both aversions and cravings.  One craving I had was for a soup my grandmother, Noni Red, use to make and that I loved when I was younger.  I had not eaten this soup in years–it was time to change that!  I made my grocery list, headed to the store and could barely get home quick enough to start simmering it on the stove.  The smell brought me right back to her house, it was a sweet memory.  It was so good and it’s healthy so I wanted to share the recipe.  I hope some of you will try it and I hope you enjoy it!

Noni Red’s Italian Garbanzo Bean Soup

Noni Red always called them Garbanzo beans, but many people know them as chickpeas.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb bag of Garbanzo beans- soaked overnight, drained & well rinsed
  • 2 large cans of diced tomatoes, no salt added
  • 2 small cans of tomato sauce, no salt added
  • 1 large container of chicken stock, no salt added
  • 1 med-large onion, diced
  • 5 garlic cloves, diced
  • 3 ribs of celery
  • 2 TBS olive oil
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • 2 bay leaves
  • rosemary
  • parsley
  • cayenne pepper
  1. In a large pot sauté the onions, garlic and celery in the olive oil over med-high heat.
  2. Add the chicken stock and garbanzo beans, use enough stock to cover the beans.
  3. Add tomato sauce and diced tomatoes.
  4. Turn up the heat to bring to a boil, then reduce heat to all to simmer.
  5. After about 45 minutes of simmering I then add all my seasonings:  salt, pepper, bay leaves, rosemary, parsley and a dash or two of cayenne pepper for a little kick.  I can’t give you measurements of seasonings, I just go by looks and taste!
  6. Allow to simmer, stirring occasionally until the garbanzo beans are tender and all the seasons have gotten all happy together.

Then serve yourself up a bowl, sprinkle some Parmesan cheese on top and have some good tough, chewy bread on the side– that’s how Noni Red always served it and she knew how to treat food right.

P1060710

This recipe is so easy.  It’s so filling.  It’s so healthy. So, there’s no reason why you shouldn’t be making it some time soon! 

Note:  I always buy “no salt added” canned goods when I use them for recipes.  This allows me to control the salt and sodium content of my meals.  It’s crazy stupid how much sodium is packed in those little 14 ounce cans.  I’ve realized how much better my recipes have tasted since I’ve started doing this.  Try it!

 

4 Responses to “Little One & Memories With A Recipe”

  1. Larry Denton January 11, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

    Sweet Jill, what a lovely testimony of God’s goodness and gratiousness in yours and David’s lives!! It brought tears to my eyes to know that the baby’s heartbeat was your most beautiful sound, Oh so Precious!!! Very sweet also of remembering Noni by making her soup. I know she was very precious to you.

  2. Joy Boudreau January 11, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    I want some! That looks and sounds wonderful…

  3. i have no greater joy January 12, 2013 at 7:51 am #

    I’ve heard it said that it’s the smallest things that take up the most room in your heart (or something like that ;) ). So true, isn’t it? A teeny heartbeat of a teeny Little One FILLS your heart with a great joy!!! I am so happy for you! Can’t wait to try the soup! Yu-um!

  4. eatsleepandrun January 14, 2013 at 2:50 am #

    Ack! I’m still pinching myself that this amazing news is really true. And I got your card in the mail the other day – we’re really kindred spirits – I LOVE getting old fashioned mail :)
    I never had crazy cravings with my pregnancies; definitely ones like this. I couldn’t eat lettuce with Ethan – how sad is that?! For some reason the smell and texture drove me nuts.

Leave a Reply

